docs/User Guide/User Guide/Basic Concepts and Features/Notes/Note Revisions.md
Trilium supports seamless versioning of notes by storing snapshots ("revisions") of notes at regular intervals.
[!NOTE] This documentation matches the redesign of the note revisions dialog on v0.103.0, older versions have a similar dialog but with some differences.
Named revisions are a new feature of Trilium v0.103.0 which allows adding a short description of what the changes in the snapshot contain.
In the list of note revisions:
To create a named revision, either:
Revisions are saved:
Additionally, revisions can also come from somewhere else, and this is indicated via the icon of the revision:
Time interval of taking note snapshot is configurable in the Options -> Other dialog. This provides a trade-off between more revisions and more data to store.
To turn off note versioning for a particular note (or sub-tree), add disableVersioning label to the note.
The limit on the number of note snapshots can be configured in the Options -> Other dialog. The note revision snapshot number limit refers to the maximum number of revisions that can be saved for each note. Where -1 means no limit, 0 means delete all revisions. You can set the maximum revisions for a single note through the versioningLimit=X label.
The note limit will not take effect immediately; it will only apply when the note is modified.
You can click the Erase excess revision snapshots now button to apply the changes immediately.