doc/user/todos.md
{{< details >}}
{{< /details >}}
Your To-Do List is a chronological list of items waiting for your input. The items are known as to-do items.
You can use the To-Do List to track actions related to the work you do in GitLab. When people contact you or your attention is needed, a to-do item appears in your To-Do List.
To access your To-Do List:
In the upper-right corner, select To-do items ({{< icon name="task-done" >}}).
To filter your To-Do List:
To sort the To-Do List:
On the To Do tab, in the upper-right corner, select from the options:
Optional. Select the sort direction.
[!note] On the Snoozed and Done tabs, Recommended sorts items by their creation date only.
{{< history >}}
multiple_todos. Disabled by default.multiple_todos enabled by default.{{< /history >}}
[!flag] The availability of this feature is controlled by a feature flag. For more information, see the history.
Many to-do items are created automatically. Some of the actions that add a to-do item to your To-Do List:
In GitLab 17.8 and later, you receive a new to-do notification every time someone mentions you, even in the same issue or merge request.
For other actions that create to-do items like assignments or review requests, you receive only one notification per action type, even if that action occurs multiple times in the same issue or merge request.
To-do items aren't affected by GitLab notification email settings. The only exception: If your notification setting is set to Custom and Merge request you're eligible to approve is created is selected, you get a to-do item when you are eligible to approve a merge request.
You can manually add an item to your To-Do List.
Go to your:
In the upper-right corner, select Add a to-do item ({{< icon name="todo-add" >}}).
You can create a to-do item by mentioning someone anywhere except for a code block. Mentioning a user many times in one message only creates one to-do item.
For example, from the following comment, everyone except frank gets a to-do item created for them:
@alice What do you think? cc: @bob
- @carol can you please have a look?
> @dan what do you think?
Hey @erin, this is what they said:
```
Hi, please message @frank :incoming_envelope:
```
Various actions on the to-do item object (like issue, merge request, or epic) mark its corresponding to-do item as done.
To-do items are marked as done if you:
To-do items are not marked as done if you:
If someone else closes or takes action on an issue or epic, your to-do item remains pending.
When a merge request is merged or closed, to-do items for all users that were assigned, added as reviewers or approvers, or required to approve are marked as done. This includes to do items related to failed pipelines.
You can manually mark a to-do item as done.
There are two ways to do this:
If you marked a to-do item as done by mistake, you can re-add it from the Done tab:
The to-do item is now visible in the To Do tab of the To-Do List.
{{< history >}}
{{< /history >}}
You can snooze to-do items to temporarily hide them from your main To-Do List. This allows you to focus on more urgent tasks and return to snoozed items later.
To snooze a to-do item:
Until a specific time and date option. Otherwise, choose one of the preset snooze durations:
Snoozed to-do items are removed from your main To-Do List and appear in a separate Snoozed tab.
When the snooze period ends, the to-do item automatically returns to your main To-Do List. It appears with an indicator showing when it was originally created.
{{< history >}}
{{< /history >}}
To view or manage your snoozed to-do items:
From the Snoozed tab, you can:
{{< history >}}
{{< /history >}}
You can bulk edit your to-do items:
To bulk edit to-do items:
For security reasons, GitLab deletes to-do items when a user no longer has access to a related resource. For example, if the user no longer has access to an issue, merge request, epic, project, or group, GitLab deletes the related to-do items.
This process occurs in the hour after their access changes. Deletion is delayed to prevent data loss, in case the user's access was accidentally revoked.